Celebrating the best in Columbus healthcare

Kitty McConnell

Quantum Health employees turned out en masse at the Athletic Club of Columbus last night to cheer their founder and CEO, Kara Trott, as she accepted the 2015 Healthcare Achievement Executive of the Year award from Dispatch Printing Co. CEO Michael Fiorile.

>>Photos: 2015 HealthCare Achievement Awards

The 2015 awards were presented by Columbus CEO magazine with sponsors Cardinal Health and Bricker & Eckler. WBNS-10TV anchor Angela An emceed the event.

Quantum was also recognized as a Healthcare Trailblazer. Practitioner of the Year, Dr. Phillip Shubert, was recognized along with Lifetime Achievement award winner Dr. Jeffrey Milks. Helios took home the Pathway to Population Health award, and six long-time volunteers from Mount Carmel St. Ann's Hospital stole the show when they were recognized as volunteers of the year.

Finalists CrossChx, CoverMyMeds, OhioHealth Group's Health 4 and Mount Carmel Health System accepted awards as trailblazers and population care facilitators. Dr. Laura Hill and Beth Traini were recognized as Executive of the Year finalists. Mindy Derr and the late Dr. Phillip Price were recognized as Lifetime Achievement finalists, and Dr. Gary Ansel as the Practitioner of the Year finalist. Manraj Bath, DMD was recognized as volunteer finalist, along with National Multiple Sclerosis Society Ohio Buckeye Chapter volunteer Ellen Cathey.

Previous years' Healthcare Achievement honorees were in attendance, including Denise Bauer, CEO of FairHoPe Hospice. Bauer is preparing to embark on a capital campaign to add a grief center to the organization's Fairfield County facility.

Congratulations to all of our winners and finalists. You can read their stories in the March issue of Columbus CEO.

Thanks to all of the award sponsors and judges, without whom these annual recognitions wouldn't be possible.

Nominations for the 2016 Healthcare Achievement Awards will open online in late July. Follow @columbusceomag or visit columbusceo.com for updates on upcoming award programs.