Here are Columbus CEO's 2022 Healthcare Achievement Awards winners

Katy Smith Jess Deyo
Columbus CEO
Healthcare Achievement Awards 2022

The Columbus region is fortunate to be protected by a dedicated corps of health care heroes who have risked their lives for us every day since COVID-19 first came into our lexicon two grueling years ago.

The sector employs more than 45,000 people at hospital systems and a nonprofit research institute that are among the best in the nation, where ground-breaking research advances us into the future. In any normal year, honoring our top researchers, care providers and innovators is a treat because their stories are so compelling. In 2022, it’s paramount. This year’s judges scored nominations based on specific criteria for each category. Accumulated results determine winners and finalists.

Meet the judges

Dr. David Sabgir (Tim Johnson/CEO)

Dr. David Sabgir

Dr. David Sabgir, a cardiovascular specialist at OhioHealth, is founder and CEO of Walk with a Doc, now operating in communities worldwide, and 2016 Columbus CEO Pathway to Population Health award winner. In 2015 he was recognized as a CNN Hero. Sabgir holds a medical degree from Medical College of Ohio and served his internship, residency and fellowship at Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. He still leads a local Walk with a Doc chapter every Saturday morning.

Reed Fraley, executive in residence, Ohio State University College of Public Health

Reed Fraley

Reed Fraley is an executive in residence at Ohio State University College of Public Health. He served as chief operating officer of Primary One Health, formerly known as Columbus Neighborhood Health Center; senior vice president of the Ohio Hospital Association; and as CEO of the Ohio State University Health System.

Dispatch Magazines publisher Ray Paprocki. (Will Shilling/Columbus Monthly)

Ray Paprocki

Ray Paprocki is publisher and general manager for Dispatch Magazines, which includes Columbus CEO.

Healthcare Achievement Awards 2022:Meet the finalists

2022 Healthcare Achievement Awards winners 

Executive of the Year: Charles Gehring, president and CEO, LifeCare Alliance

Practitioner of the Year: Maria Barnett, DO, Central Ohio Primary Care

Lifetime Achievement: Deb Palmer, former vice president of administrative services, Fairfield Medical Center 

Pathway to Population Health - Individual: Electra Paskett, Ph.D., Director, Center for Cancer Health Equity at the James Cancer Hospital, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center 

Pathway to Population Health - Organization: LifeCare Alliance Medical Nutrition Therapy Program

Healthcare Trailblazer - Individual: Dr. Robert Graessle, founder and CEO, Basecamp Recovery Center 

Healthcare Trailblazer - Organization:OhioHealth Community Mobile Vaccine Project 

Volunteer of the Year: Mary Smith, Mount Carmel Hospice and Palliative Care 

  •   Finalist: Kitty Handley, Fairfield Medical Center