Senate confirms transportation safety board chairman, member

Staff Writer
Columbus CEO

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Senate has voted overwhelmingly to confirm a lawyer with a history in aviation and transportation safety to head the National Transportation Safety Board.

Christopher Hart's nomination was approved 97 to 0. The Senate also approved by a voice vote the nomination of Tho Dinh-Zarr, president of a foundation that promotes road safety, to fill a vacancy on the five-member safety board.

Hart joined the board as vice chairman in 2009. He moved to the top spot in April after Deborah Hersman resigned as chairwoman.

Hart has held high-level posts in the Federal Aviation Administration, including deputy director for air traffic safety oversight and assistant administrator for system safety.

He served as deputy administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration before moving to the FAA in 1995.