Former Brooks Brothers COO will join the company Aug. 26

The Limited has announced Diane Ellis will take over as CEO of the women's fashion retailer as of Aug. 26.

Ellis joins The Limited after six years as president and COO of Brooks Brothers. According to a news release, she "helped accelerate growth and profitability by enhancing the store experience, strengthening processes and building the team while maintaining an entrepreneurial culture. She oversaw information technology, human resources, retail and outlet stores, planning and allocation, product development, sourcing, supply chain, e-commerce and finance."

Previously, Ellis was founding partner of Lighthouse Retail Group, managing director for the retail strategy practice at PricewaterhouseCoopers and director of merchandise planning, allocation and inventory control at Filene's. She also worked in merchandising, planning, strategy, buying and store management roles at Marshalls and Joseph Horne's department stores.

Ellis takes over for Linda Heasley, who left in February to lead Lane Bryant. Heasley had been with The Limited since 2007, when it was acquired by Sun Capital Partners Inc. from parent company Limited Brands Inc. The iconic women's retailer was founded by Les Wexner 50 years ago as a standalone store at Kingsdale Shopping Center.

"Diane brings an impressive track record of success in both specialty retail and mass retail. Her expertise in consumer behavior, branding, and store operations will add energy and momentum to the exciting initiatives underway at The Limited," said Scott King, senior managing director of Sun Capital Partners and board member of The Limited, in the release.

The Limited had previously announced plans to grow its store base and enter the outlet market, with plans for four outlets and eight traditional stores this year. The company said that 2013 marks the sixth consecutive year of store growth. The Limited has 259 stores across the country. After the new stores are opened, it will have brought 68 new stores online since 2008.